The Spirit of Geography Scholarship (SG5462)

The Spirit of Geography Scholarship honors the memory of those who lost their lives on September 11, 2001 in an airplane that was hijacked and crashed into the Pentagon. One scholarship is awarded each spring pending available funding and applied to the following fall.

The Spirit of Geography Scholarship was established in 2002 to honor the memory of those persons who lost their lives on September 11, 2001, in an airplane that crashed into the Pentagon. Two of these people were National Geographic Society staff members Joe Ferguson and Ann Judge, both dear friends to several members of the Department.

Three outstanding Washington, D.C. teachers, James Debeuneure, Sarah Clark, and Hilda Taylor, and their sixth-grade students, Rodney Dickens, Asia Cottom, and Bernard Brown, also lost their lives in this tragedy.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Incoming freshman student
  • the selected student must agree in writing to attend Texas State as a geography major
  • if neither of these criteria are met, then the Texas State Geography Department has the discretion of either not awarding the scholarship or making exceptions to the criteria and awarding a deserving minority student who is currently a Texas State Geography pre-major or major
  • be enrolled for 12 hours

College of Liberal Arts